Monday 2 November 2015

Living in the Shadows by Judith Barrow
Release Date: 16th July 2015
Publisher: Honno Welsh Women's Press
Genres: Contemporary Fiction / Historical Fiction

It's 1969 and Mary Schormann is living quietly in Wales with her ex-POW husband, Peter, and her teenage twins, Richard and Victoria.

Her niece, Linda Booth, is a nurse - following in Mary's footsteps - and works in the maternity ward of her local hospital in Lancashire.

At the end of a long night shift, a bullying new father visits the maternity ward and brings back Linda's darkest nightmares, her terror of being locked in. Who is this man, and why does he scare her so?

There are secrets dating back to the war that still haunt the family, and finding out what lies at their root might be the only way Linda can escape their murderous consequences.

Sequel to the acclaimed Changing Patterns and Pattern of Shadows:

"Judith Barrow has not written an ordinary romance but a book that deals with important issues which are still relevant today... an excellent debut novel."
Historical Novels Review

"Judith Barrow has written, with great intensity of emotions, an absorbing saga..."

"well-paced, gritty love story"
Western Mail

"An unforgettable debut novel - perfectly paced"
Menna Elfyn

"Barrow's thoughtful and atmospheric novel shines a light on the shadowy corners of family life..."
Lancashire Evening Post

"a gripping read."
Tivyside Advertiser

Living in the Shadows is the third book of the series and instantly transports the reader to the era of the rock and roll 60's. The descriptions within the book perfectly capture the atmopshere of the time. In this book we follow not only Mary's twins on their own journey's but also Mary's niece Linda who has become a nurse too. Much of Linda's life is a reflection of what Mary's one was. Like Mary did in the first book of the series, Linda seems to take all the troubles of the family upon her shoulders. She works so hard and is often left feeling exhausted an unappreciated. She has many decisions of her own to make, not wishing to fall into marriage with her boyfriend just because its whats expected.

Mary's twins, both as different as chalk and cheese are embarking on new starts in their lives. Victoria is the wild child of the family and causes her family no amount of drama and heartache. But her naivety and desire to find freedom from her mundane life in Wales and to be no longer living in the shadow of her brother who it seems can do no wrong, have serious consequences for her. Her brother Richard desperately wants to be a doctor like their father. His new life begins with a baptism of fire when he is rescued from a yob by a beautiful girl. In a rockers and Mods world it seems that Richard's face just does not fit. Father impeded by wearing hearing aids, Richard is not as confident in comparison to his wayward sister. The 60's is still a world of prejudices and suspicion and it seems there really is no such thing as free love! It comes with consequences and a price.

I absolutely adore books that follow a family through generations. Judith Barrow has surpassed herself in writing this great family saga. Whilst Living in the Shadows can be read as a standalone novel its definitely worth reading the other two books in the series first. There is such a wealth of fantastic characters to fall in love with and ones to hate! It was wonderful following Mary and Peter's journey too. A love story that defied all the odds. I feel this book is crying to be made into a mini series for tv and would work wonderfully! I'd highly recommend this book along with the other two books.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Judith Barrow has lived in Pembrokeshire for thirty years. She is the author of three novels, and has published poetry and short fiction, winning several poetry competitions, as well as writing three children's books and a play performed at the Dylan Thomas Centre. Judith grew up in the Pennines, has degrees in literature and creative writing and makes regular appearances at literary festivals.

- Copyright © 2013-2014 Brook Cottage Books - Powered by Blogger - Graphics & Blog Customization by JellydogDesign