Friday, 15 January 2016

Six Lies by Ben Adams
Release Date: 23rd November 2015
Publisher: Silverwood Books
Genres: Humour / Romance

How would you feel if, one day, you discover that everything you thought you knew about your family was a fabrication? Your mother wasn’t your mother, your father was a liar and your whole upbringing was a sham.

Confronted with this exact situation, Dave Fazackerley doesn’t feel great. It doesn’t help that he has just buried the woman he thought of as his mother. Or that his wife, his one true soulmate, recently jumped into bed with a librarian. Even his band, his only escape from reality, is going through a rough patch.

How will Dave respond? Will he discover the truth about his family? Will his band ever play a gig again? More importantly, can Dave entice his wife back from the arms of the book-dork or will he take a chance on a new love?

Let me start by saying, that every once in a while a book comes along that turns out not as you'd expect it at all and Six Lies was one of those books. Poor Dave's life is slowly but surely going down the toilet. A deathbed revelation from his mother sees Dave's already messed up life unravelling even more. And, just when he thinks things can't get any worse, life keeps throwing another snowball in his face!

This was quite a humourous book at times tinged with a little bit of sadness and lots of drama and things I didn't see coming. The story of how Dave comes to discover things about himself and his family is one that will leave the reader feeling really sorry for him on one page, cringe with him on another and evoke a strong desire to slap him at some point in the book! I really liked the writing style and Ben Adams has created some brilliant supporting characters who add so much to the story in their own unique way.

Six Lies is basically a story of a man who realises that he needs to make necessary changes in his life but is constantly sabotaged by revelations from his family and  friends and his sometimes seriously dodgy decisions that made me shout at him once or twice. He sets himself the goal of winning his wife back but does get things wrong there in spectacular fashion! Can things ever work out for Dave? Will he ever get to the truth about his parents? Are some things best left unsaid? Will he stop being an idiot with a big heart? Buy the book and find out! A really enjoyable read! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Like a lot of people, Ben went to school, then college and eventually grew up and got a responsible job, a house and a family. And then his mid-life crisis kicked in.

Realising that life was in danger of becoming all too serious, Ben started writing. Not in the way that Forrest Gump started running, but at least he started. He wrote on steamed up mirrors in the bathroom to make his children smile. Eventually he graduated to making up stories to entertain his kids at bedtime.

For some reason, his boys didn't seem interested in his tales of every-day life, relationships, family, trauma, farce and the occasional bit of debauchery. They preferred JK someone or other.

Following his short-lived career as a children's author, Ben now concentrates on writing stories for grown-ups. He writes for people who have lived, loved, worked, strived and suffered - people like him. People like you.

Ben lives in southwest London with his two boys and Albus, his dog.

2 Responses so far.

  1. This sounds different and interesting

  2. This sounds different and interesting

- Copyright © 2013-2014 Brook Cottage Books - Powered by Blogger - Graphics & Blog Customization by JellydogDesign