Wednesday, 30 March 2016

A Gown of Thorns by Natalie Meg Evans
Release Date: 12th November 2015
Publisher: Bookouture
Genres: Contemporary Fiction / Historical

A bittersweet romance set in the rolling valleys of the French Dordogne wine-making region. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Lulu Taylor and Dinah Jefferies.

Shauna Vincent, a graduate from the north of England, has just learned that the job she set her heart on has gone to a socially well-connected rival. Devastated, she accepts an offer in France from an old family friend - to be au pair to the woman's grandchildren. Within a week, Shauna is deep in the Dordogne. With little to do other than organise her two charges' busy social diaries, she has endless hours in which to explore the magical landscape that surrounds her.

Her new home is the ancient Chateau de Chemignac with its vineyards and hidden secrets, including a locked tower room where she unearths a trove of vintage gowns, one of which feels unsettlingly familiar. Then Shauna falls asleep one afternoon in a valley full of birdsong, and has a strange dream of a vintage aircraft circling threateningly overhead. So when she suddenly awakes to find charming local landowner Laurent de Chemignac standing over her - Shauna wonders if the dashing aristocrat might be just the person to help her untangle this unexpected message from the past.


Natalie is a USA Today Bestseller and author of three novels.

In the late 1970s, Natalie Meg Evans ran away from art college in the Midlands for a career in London's fringe theatre. She spent five years acting, as well as writing her own plays and sketches before giving it up to work in PR. She now writes full-time from her house in rural mid Suffolk.

Natalie has collected numerous awards for her writing including the UK's Harry Bowling Prize (2012). The Dress Thief was nominated for a coveted RITA Award by Romance Writers of America and it won the Greek Public Book award for the best foreign novel; also, the UK's Festival of Romance readers award (where readers rather than industry professionals select and judge) in the historical category. The Milliner's Secret was recently shortlisted for the same award.

Natalie was also nominated for the coveted Daphne du Maurier award and was named a finalist for a Romance Writers of America Golden Heart award.

- Copyright © 2013-2014 Brook Cottage Books - Powered by Blogger - Graphics & Blog Customization by JellydogDesign